From Belloni to Argentina to Moscow and … Moser!

since when was it Created in 1911With the name Piccolo Giro di Lombardia to distinguish it from “big” Lombardy, the fall classic for amateurs and under 23s changed departure and arrival locations and organizers: Milan and its surroundings for nearly eighty years (Sponsored, in chronological order, by Unione Sportiva Milanese, Unione Ciclo Auto Moto and Bruzzanese Brill) until 1990 Transfer to Lake El Fara’inwith Velo Club Como and Gruppo Sportivo Lario; Finally, after two unimplemented releases in the 2000s, It was taken over by Velo Club Oggiono with a relative track in the Brianza area of ​​Lecco starting in 2010.

On the other hand, one element has remained almost constant, more than one element actually. D 1920Following up on what professional Lombardy did the previous year, climb from Bellagio to the Madonna del Gisallo, proclaimed by Pope Pius XII in 49 as the patron saint of cyclists: Whatever the plans and elevations, the sacred Ghisallo is always there. Moreover, the function of Little Lombardy like A starting point for true talents towards Olympus of this sport: The competition’s honor roll is a journey into a century of prestigious cycling.

In addition, of course, to the Italian supremacy that accounts for half of its history, we immediately note one more thing: Nobody has won the Piccolo Lombardia more than once. Once the victory is here, the runner is ready to jump to the highest class.

Success catches the eye immediately In 1914When a 22-year-old arrives in Sesto San Giovanni Tano Belloni, One of those great cyclists who had the misfortune to find themselves battling against phenomena: despite great successes, Belloni had gone down in history as the eternal second in the rivalry with Costante Girardingo. But the Lombard complacency was completely ruled out: in the following year, as well as in the 18th and 28th, the Lombardia dei pro was also awarded. Tano Belloni is one of only four men to win the Piccolo and Giro di Lombardia races. The other three are Diego Ronchini (1955 il Piccolo, ’57 il Lombardia), Sean Kelly (1976 il Piccolo; ’83, ’85 and ’91 il Lombardia) and Moreno Argentin (1979 il Piccolo, ’87 il Lombardia after first and second place). in the world Cup).

Kelly, who has conquered all monuments more than once in his career except for Flanders (where he finished second three times), was not the first foreigner to win young Lombardy.Three years before the Irishman, the County of Milan had seen New Zealander Bruce Biddle, already fourth at the Munich Olympics, rejoicing in front of Gianbattista Baroncelli: Biddle went pro the following season, like many winners in that race before and after him, always running for the Italian teams.

Let’s go back to the decades of black and white for a moment. In 1923 There was a winner in the rainbow shirt: In an age when the differences between professional and amateur were less clear than they are today, Libero Ferrari He took part in the Lombardia Piccolo and won it two months after becoming the first Italian to win the World Cup in Zurich!

In 1926 it was the turn of Mario Luciani, An ancestor of today’s Ganna & co. From 1928, he later became part of the quartet in the track pursuit that put the Olympic gold medal around his neck in Amsterdam by defeating the Dutch hosts (with Luciani there were Gayoni, Fascian and Tassili). In 1928 from the Lombard Little Record we find Luigi Marchisiowhich would have conquered in the 1930 Giro d’Italia, the last in which the pink jersey did not yet exist (introduced in the next edition by Armando Cougnet) and marked by the absence of Alfredo Penda’s famous “paying too much for not running it”.

Going forward in time, Moser also won the Piccolo Lombardia Award. But not Francesco, but Aldo, who in 1953 at the age of only nineteen defeated Lino Ciucetta and Ercole Baldini. With the winning solitary, the eldest of the Moser brothers He was given the nickname Piccolo Coppi, Because Ghisallo was Campionissimo Fausto’s favorite climb.

We come to the last years. In 1985, the defining jump was made by Maurizio Fondrest, who had recently chosen the bike definitively in a tight skate duo: A decision that would have led, among other things, to the World Cup and Sanremo. In 1996, With Piccolo Lombardia in the meantime having become “Como”, it was a sprint limited race victorious for the future conqueror of the Giro d’Italia: Stefano Garzilli, Technical commentator Rai today.

The rest is practically practical, with Piccolo Lombardia re-launched by Daniele Fumagalli’s team and the arrival of Oggiono. The last 10 winners so far are all part of the World Tour. In order from 2012 to today: Jean Polanc, dear friend and follower of Tadej Pogacar; David VillaA highly regarded climber. Gianni Mosconeatop a podium with Dylan Teuns and Pierre Latour making Fumagalli especially proud; Fausto’s backingone of Remco Evenepoel’s assistants at the Trionfal Vuelta; Harm Fanhoek, that in the post-Covid era he did a good job climbing the Giro d’Italia; Alexander Ryabushenko, With the arrival of the seventh Pogacar; Robert Stannardwho two months ago won the Tour of Wallonia and then finished second in the classification of Vuelta climbers; Andrea Baggioli, One of the most beautiful promises of young Italy; Harry Sweeney which, moreover, marked the only completely foreign platform in Piccolo Lombardia; Finally the reigning hero, Paul Lapera Already in the orbit of the Ag2r Citroen and with the French national team at the start of 2022 was the second in the UAE Tour stage.

Special mention for i Luxurious semi-winners: In 1924 he was in third place yerdo minigaze, who that summer was the Olympic gold medalist at the Vincennes Velodrome in the quartet with De Martini, Denal and Zucchetti; just as Mino de Rossi In 1952, the new Golden Quartet was from Helsinki with Morettini, Messina and Campana and the second by Piccolo Lombardia behind Bruno Monti; subordinate Baldeni Terzo was already mentioned in 53, while in the following season it was the lowest score on the podium Cletus Mall future winner of Lombardia pro; In 1964 it was second only to Piccolo Lombardia Luciano Armani, then the stage winner in the Giro and Tour; In 1972 he was ranked second perino javazi, He then won Sanremo and several stages in the Giro; In 73 there was a successor to Biddle Baroncelli He then won Lombardy in 1977 and 86; In 1974 and 1975 it was the second in a row Baby MartinelliFuture Olympic Bronze Medalist and Sports Director of Nepali; Speaking of the Great Des, he arrived in 1976 behind Kelly Vittorio Algeria In 1984, the silver Piccolo Lombardia went to none other than Diablo Claudio Schiapucci; In 1987 he was in third place Fabrizio Bontempiin 88 he was in second place David Bramati; Similar sequence: in the third 1991 David Rebellin And in the year 92 seconds Gilberto Simone. And in the decade of Oggiono: in 2015 Julio will be Behind the support in 2016 Andrea Vendrame Behind Vanhoucke, in 2017, Pogacar took 7th podium Gino Mader, until you get Clement Champusin The third and second are between 18 and 19.

Sunday 2 October will be class 94 From this autumn epic that predicts tomorrow.